Yes. Making such a major change to your computer makes the Software Key activation server see the changed computer as a new computer. So it requires a new activation. So please “save” your original activation by deactivating EQ7 before you make major changes to your computer. (Reformatting the computer is also a “major change.”) Then re-activate after the changes have been made.